Monday, June 3, 2013

The Sacred Heart of Jesus

The month of June is dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The Feast of the Sacred Heart is June 7.

The Year of Faith is a perfect time to begin a devotion to the Sacred Heart, following the 12 Promises made by Jesus to French nun St. Margaret Mary Alacoque:
  1. I will give them all the graces necessary for their state of life.
  2. I will establish peace in their houses.
  3. I will comfort them in all their afflictions.
  4. I will be their secure refuge during life, and above all in death.
  5. I will bestow large blessings upon all their undertakings.
  6. Sinners shall find in My Heart the source and the infinite ocean of mercy.
  7. Tepid souls shall grow fervent.
  8. Fervent souls shall quickly mount to high perfection.
  9. I will bless every place where a picture of My Heart shall be set up and honored.
  10. I will give to priests the gift of touching the most hardened hearts.
  11. Those who propagate this devotion shall have their name written in my heart, never to be blotted out.
  12. I promise them in the excessive mercy of My Heart that My all-powerful love will grant to all those who receive communion on the first Friday in nine consecutive months the grace of final penitence; they shall not die in My disgrace nor without receiving the sacraments; My Divine Heart shall be their safe refuge in this last moment.
To begin a devotion, you might find a picture portraying the Sacred Heart of Jesus (there are various versions and styles) and display it in your home. Explain to the children the story of St. Margaret Mary and the deep love that Jesus has for them. Also celebrate this day as a feast, with a special dinner and dessert, using a white tablecloth and centerpiece (maybe use the new picture or statue of the Sacred Heart). Read more here.

No comments:

Post a Comment